To obtain a marriage license both parties must complete a marriage application (Marriage Kiosk link below) and must be 18 years of age or older and provide proof of their age, identification in the form of a driver's license, state ID, or passport. If the applicants are 16 or 17 years of age they must provide written consent of both parents or legal guardians. Individuals under the age of 16 may not obtain a marriage license unless approved by the County Judge.
The fee for a marriage license is $86.00 and there is a three (3) day waiting period for Florida residents; there is no waiting period for non-residents. Florida residents who have completed a premarital preparation course and can provide completion certificates will only be required to pay $61.00 and the three (3) day waiting period will be waived. Please click here for a list of course providers. All Florida residents are also required to read the Family Law Handbook (English)/(Spanish) whether or not the premarital preparation course has been completed.
Once a marriage license is issued, it is valid for 60 days and the marriage ceremony must be performed within that time or the license will be voided. Marriage ceremonies may be performed by:
- All regularly ordained ministers of the gospel, elders in communion with a church, or other ordained clergy;
- All judicial officers, including retired judicial officers, Clerks of the Circuit Courts, and public notaries of this state; and
- "Quakers" or "Friends" may perform marriages in the manner and form used by their specific beliefs.
Marriage ceremonies may be performed in the Clerk's chapel at either the Recording Division located in the Main Government Center or the Spring Hill Office for a fee of $30.00.
Once the ceremony is performed, the marriage certificate and a certified copy of the marriage certificate will be mailed to the address listed on the application within 30 days. Additional certified copies cost $3.00 per document.
Per Florida law, the Clerk's Office prohibits the issuance of a marriage license for related individuals.
For further information regarding marriage licenses, please contact the Clerk's Office at (352) 540-6768 or visit one of our locations:
Main Office - Government Center
20 North Main Street, Room 362
Brooksville, FL 34601
Spring Hill Office
7405 Forest Oaks Boulevard
Spring Hill, FL 34608
Note: Because of the time involved in processing the application, we cannot accept applications after 4:30 pm at the Main Office and 4:00 pm at the Westside Office.
Marriage License Fee Schedule
|Solemnizing Matrimony (ceremony)||$30.00|
|Marriage License(includes certified copy):|
|- If the Premarital class is attended||$61.00|
|- If the Premarital class is not attended||$86.00|